A Transitional Phase

On her writing blog Reena Saxena has provided the word ‘transition’ as the word prompt for this week.

I’ve been feeling a bit down lately, partly because I’ve acquired type 2 diabetes, with its symptoms of weariness and blurred vision, and partly because I’ve given up smoking a vape and turned to Nicotine Replacement Therapy in the form of a mouth spray.

On the 14th of March, with a blood glucose level of 20.0, I was admitted to a hospital emergency ward where I spent several hours. That was a new experience at least, reading the poetry of Edgar Allan Poe in between blood tests. I’ve been taking insulin and avoiding sugary food and drink, and my blood glucose levels are slowly declining. As you can see in the photo below they are now at a seven day average of 14.1. I’ll be seeing a dietitian later this month and the aim is to get my blood glucose level down to 7.0.

I’ve written a poem in free verse about being a diabetic and a former smoker.

A Transitional Phase

I’m in a transitional phase

From smoking a vape to nicotine sprays

A quit smoking aid

From healthy to diabetic and weary

Not seeing clearly

Vision now bleary

Tired with diabetes mellitus

I find my writing arduous

And all things an encumbrance

I’ll do some cleaning

To give a wasted day some meaning

I’ll stop writing now.

{"capture_mode":"AutoModule","faces":[]}
{“capture_mode”:”AutoModule”,”faces”:[]}

9 thoughts on “A Transitional Phase

  1. Hey Dan,

    Been a while since I’ve checked your blog, and sorry to hear you aren’t feeling well. Hope you’re doing better after your hospital stay! Good luck with the new diet and getting that blood sugar under control!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.